top of page
Search
  • SloughLibrariesandCulture

"Collaboration" Chapter One, Keisha by Michael Pearcy

Updated: Jul 17, 2020

Background Summary

Inspired by a Portuguese initiative featuring 45 authors and numerous editors

(https://escapegoat.world/ ) Slough Libraries & Culture have formed a group of Slough writers to create a collaborative novel that explores the very pertinent themes of oppression, prejudice, kinship and love similarly addressed in Noughts and Crosses (one of the BBC’s ‘Novels that shaped our world’).  Writers and editors aged 18 and over of all levels of experience are welcome to get involved, for further details email Volunteer & Development Officer Joseph Sammon at joseph.sammon@slough.gov.uk

Each chapter will be written by a different writer and edited by members of the group and will be released on Tuesdays and Fridays each week on this website. Chapters will be accompanied by a short biography on each writer. 



Chapter One

Slough Library Collaborative Novel Project

Background Notes By Michael Pearcy

The brief was to include the themes of rebellion, prejudice, resisting oppression and love in a here and now setting. Following the style of the Escape Goat project, the opening chapter contains a group of characters in a deliberately non- specific dramatic setting which we hope provides inspiration for future chapters. Other writers may explore characters, relationships and themes and develop them in any way that they find inspiring. There are jumping off points for subplots in this chapter set by various characters; two examples would be Phil in the last scene and Jamil who we meet at Kwame’s flat. There are many relationship avenues to explore: Brandon/Keisha; Keisha/Kwame; Kwame/Brandon; Jade/Keisha; Brandon/Phil; Brandon/Andrew etc. The nature of the demonstration and the associated social/political background are not specified but left for the writers to develop.

Sharnford is a fictional town, possibly reflecting the history and development of Bristol. The Unity Crusade is a fictional organisation which may be fleshed out as required.


 

"Collaboration"

Chapter One

Keisha

(edited by Dayna White)

By Michael Pearcy


‘I’ve decided to go. I really feel I want to, that I should. Are you okay with that?’ Keisha tapped her phone in the palm of her hand, a fidgety movement that made Brandon think she was on edge.

‘It’s fine by me,’ he said. ‘I always knew you would, why wouldn’t you? It matters. That was Kwame on the phone, right?’

‘He’s offered me a lift into Sharnford. Everybody’s meeting at Market Square’.

‘Room for me I suppose, is there?’

Keisha looked genuinely surprised. ‘No, I didn’t think you’d... You know? Is it your thing?’

‘My thing? It’s pretty much everybody’s thing. Of course I want to come. At least I can make sure you don’t get arrested.’

‘It won’t be like that. I’m not stupid.’

‘Joke, okay. I know you won’t do anything silly.’

‘The whole point is that it’s peaceful, dignified. We make it clear what we want but we’re stronger without any... confrontations.’

‘I get it. And I want to support you. Why not? I’m not only here for your cooking - although it’s pretty good.’

‘Thing is, Kwame’s squeezing me in as number five in the car. I didn’t think, sorry. And we’ll have stuff, you know, placards and a box of leaflets.’

‘Okay. Not to worry. I just thought, you know, showing solidarity.’

‘Of course, we want that. Look I’m sorry love, I didn’t think, Okay? Forgive me?’

‘No worries, I’ll go in on my bike, meet up.’

‘Cool.’ Keisha waited a moment. ‘The thing is - it’s just that I said I’d help Kwame with a few things – the organising stuff, you know. It means I’ll be busy a lot of the time at the demo so you’ll get left on your own. Do you mind?’

‘Are our friends going?’

‘Mostly.’

‘So where’s the problem? And I don’t suppose you’ll be busy all the time.’

‘No, of course not. Come.’ She leaned in and kissed him. ‘I’ve got to pop round to Kwame’s place tonight. A sort of committee meeting cum work party - we’re making up a few placards, you know, pieces of card on sticks really. I’ve been trying to buy some proper board but nowhere like that’s been open – no art shops - we’ll cut up some cardboard boxes or something. I said I’d borrow your paint brushes. Is that okay?’

‘Of course it is. You know me and Kwame, what’s mine is his.’ He pressed his palms together in a mocking gesture of solidarity.

Keisha crossed to the sink, picked up a glass and ran the cold tap. ‘This is what I didn’t want: the, you and Kwame thing. You two haven’t spoken for a year so this – making arrangements for the demo – it’s difficult for me.’

‘No, we’ll be fine – me sitting all cosy with the man who thinks I stole his girl.’

‘That’s the problem, I don’t want it like this.’

‘He said he didn’t think we’d last a year – is this it? Year up?’

‘Don’t be stupid. I told you so many times, he just got a bit jealous.’

‘It was more than that Babe – I do have feelings okay?’

‘Stay at home Brandon. I’m doing this on my own.’ She closed the tap with a vicious twist and walked out.

*

When Keisha arrived at Kwame’s flat he greeted her with a hug, took both her hands in his and said, ‘Welcome, welcome.’ At the same time he drew her into the room. ‘This is Keisha everybody, our tame lawyer.’

Keisha did her best to memorise the names with their faces – Jamal, Abeo, Jade and Violene – as they exchanged greetings. ‘You’ve all done so well getting this organised so quickly,’ she said.

‘Easy,’ said Violine. ‘The time is right for it. What do they say about achieving a critical mass? That’s where we’re at. Welcome sister.’

Jamal said, ‘You a lawyer? Could be we need a lawyer when we start jazzing things up a bit. Keep an eye on the cops for us.’

Kwame noticed the small signs of alarm in Keisha’s face. ‘We’re not going to make trouble, don’t worry. Nobody expects you to be a lawyer tomorrow – just one of us. Okay?’

‘But trouble comes if it comes,’ said Jamil. ‘We won’t run away.’

Jade stepped forward and put a hand on Keisha’s arm. ‘It’s my first demo, is it yours too?’

Keisha nodded. ‘Yeah, first time. But I’ve watched stuff on TV so... I’m a bit nervous.’

Kwame wanted to reassure her, ‘It’s all come together pretty quickly so I don’t suppose there’ll be any Unity Crusade gangs there. Maybe one or two local thugs but nothing to worry about.’

Jamil held one of the placards in Keisha’s face – ‘But we look after ourselves right? Can’t trust the cops. End oppression,’ he shouted.

*

Brandon had called his friend Andrew and suggested a few drinks to pass the time.

Andrew was upbeat: ‘I’m meeting up with some mates at the Three Horseshoes. Come down, we normally have a great night. It’s our first run out since lockdown.’

When Brandon arrived he found Andrew and his three friends sitting at the back of the bar.

Andrew waved him over. ‘I kept you a seat mate – not allowed to drink standing. This is Brandon everybody, the wife’s thrown him out so he’s slumming it with us. I ain’t going to tell you all the names,’ he added for Brandon’s sake, ‘not sure I know them myself.’ They all laughed.

‘What you done to upset the missus then?’ it was a burley man sat next to Brandon. ‘Name’s Phil by the way.’

‘Nothing exciting. She’s at some committee meeting making placards tonight. There’s a demo at the docks tomorrow.’

‘Like the trouble that was all over the news last night?’ asked Phil.

‘That’s it.’

‘Look, I’m in the chair, let me get you a beer and then you can tell me all about this, what do you call it - a protest demo?’


 

Michael Pearcy


Writer’s Biography:
Michael Pearcy works mainly as a playwright. His plays have been performed in the USA, Australia, New Zealand, Greece, Gibraltar and Singapore. There have been many performances in the UK including at The Union Theatre in Southwark where The Gatekeeper's True Religion was described by Time Out magazine as ‘…a unique gem’. His short stories have won awards in various festivals and competitions including the Berkshire Arts Festival and the Woman’s Own short story competition. Michael’s play Walkway has been shortlisted in the 2020 Kenneth Branagh Drama Writing Awards. 
As a journalist Michael has covered many and varied subjects ranging from Charles Dickens living in Slough with his young lover, to the story behind the making of the film The King’s Speech.
He leads writing workshops and has recently broadcast ten writers’ clinics on Wycombe Sound radio. He is editor and co-ordinator of the annual Wycombe Sound Short Story week.


Chapter Two to be published on 17th July.

131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page